DIY Butterbeer

I know this might sound funny…but I just read a post about Harry Potter on a friend’s blog and it reminded me of my childhood and all the great times I had while reading those books and the excitement while sitting in my chair at the cinema waiting for the newest movie to begin πŸ™‚

emma-watson-butter-beer

One of my highlights in the books always was the famous butterbeer Harry and his classmates drank at the “Three Broomsticks” tavern. Since I read the books I always imagined what it might taste like and I wanted to try that curious beverage… Today I found an easy and very basic recipe of butterbeer! I didn’t try to make it yet (maybe anyone of you has already tasted something similar and can give us a feedback? πŸ™‚ ) but I’m sure I will! I think it would be great now for the holidays: sitting in your living room beside the chimney and the christmas tree, watching “Love actually” or “The Holiday” (btw I absolutely love Jude Law in that movie) or simply a Harry Potter movie and drinking aΒ  pint of butterbeer! πŸ™‚

So here comes the recipe (4 – 6 servings)!

The site I found it on said that this simple recipe might date back centuries:

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pint real vanilla ice cream (use a brand that includes vanilla seed specks for best flavor or make your own)
  • 1/4 cup real butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon butterscotch extract
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 quart apple cider
  • Apple slices for garnish, optional

How to proceed:

  1. On medium speed, beat together vanilla ice cream, butter, butterscotch extract, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg until well-combined.
  2. Pour into a container and re-freeze.
  3. When ready to serve, gently heat apple cider in a saucepan until steaming hot.
  4. Place 1 scoop of ice cream in a thick soda glass or large mug. Top with steaming apple cider. Garnish with apple slices, if desired.

Because author J. K. Rowling did not provide a recipe for butterbeer in her books this version is pure speculation… I think if I tried it I would wait until the scoop of ice cream would have melted before drinking the beverage, because in my imagination Harry and his friends wouldn’t have an ice cream like drink πŸ™‚

http://homecooking.about.com/od/dessertrecipes/r/bldes188.htm

7 comments

  1. I have always wondered what butter beer tastes like so now I will have to make it. Thanks for you post πŸ™‚ I was just watching The Holiday last night and Love Actually is our other Christmas movie!

  2. Nice ! Now I know what I’ll try when I need a break when studying πŸ˜‰ Hope it’s as good as I imagine it to be !

  3. This is great, thanks! πŸ™‚ I might {will definitely} try it!!!

  4. I really need to attempt making butterbeer… I’ve hold it off long enough.

Leave a Reply

